1.22.2018

Book Review : Prodigy Prince by Natasha Sapienza

Prodigy Prince



At seventeen, all Prince Nuelle had ever known was safety and peace while living in the Supreme Palace of Zephoris. 

But one night, his older brother, Tane, defies their father by traveling to a cursed land. Now Nuelle holds the signet-ring and carries more responsibility than even Tane bore. Thrust from the palace and sent to a knight-building academy, Nuelle must discover his purpose for the entire kingdom’s sake. 

From his place of banishment, Prince Antikai has been exacting revenge through fear and rebellions. Nuelle has the potential to defeat him, but he needs the help of a powerful book and six gifted youths. 

Summoned by Antikai, shape-shifting beasts and other enemies hunt Nuelle and the Acumen. If either is destroyed, the faithful citizens in Zephoris will perish, and darkness will rule forever. 


***

Book Details


Title : Prodigy Prince
Author : Natasha Sapienza
Series Name : The Sevent Covenant
Publication Date : Sept 19th, 2017
Page : 334
Format : Ebook
Rating : 3/5
ISBN13 : 9781977513779
Goodreads Link : https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36277347-prodigy-prince


***

I've got a lot of distraction while reading Prodigy Prince. Moreover, it has fast storyline, when the first chapter there were intruders, Sir Amador whom he stood under the shadows of vast orange leaves was gripping his swords. Three shadowy, human with pale skin, were attacked them in silence. Fights can not be avoided, Zagan from Obsidian attacked them when they were not ready yet.

Prince Nuelle joins in that fight, even though all his sentinel tried to protect him. Especially Ave - whom he is his best friend as well - trying to protect his Prince. Sadly, Zagan killed Sir Amador and before he died, he whispered softly : "King Nifal Commanded that you both are to stay in the chariot." The hardest thing to do is they have to leave quickly even Ave won't leave Sir Amandor's by himself. And then Nuelle used both his arms to hold Ave, fighting with all his strength, trying so hard to drag Ave back into the chariot. They must leave the forest soon.

When they were arrived at Supreme Palace, Nuelle's father tried to protect his boys from traitors. He pushed them to be staying at Supreme Palace, even then Tane - Nuelle's brother - decided to go. Tane want to give a death to Antikai, even it was harder for the first time, but Nuelle still has to let his brother go. Tane insist to go to Obsidian and take a revenge.

"No matter what happens, I will always be your brother." ~ Pg 17



***

If you are loving to read fantasy genre such as Lord of the ring, Hobbit or Game of Thrones. You will like reading Prodigy Prince, this is the first book of "The Sevent Covenant" series. Sapienza sent me an E-Arc in exchange with an honest review. Thank you so much Natasha Sapienza! You could find her at HisNatashaSapienza.com.

Prodigy Prince has a lot of tribes which each of the tribe has a different and unique magic they had. Just like Athdonia whom they had yellow eyed and have excellent knowledge about gardens. Or Gavrail people who have red eyed and Kaimana who usually sea-lovers because their land is surrounded by water.

One of quick reading ebook I've read in 2018, so I recommend you to read this. You can read it on the Kindle too, it has a pretty cover as well. What I really imagine that Tane is such as sexy as Kylo Ren. I don't know where I've got this idea, just because he is really taking a good care of his brother and suddenly my mind connected to Kylo Ren's characters. I know, I might be over-dreaming ahahaha.



***


I love the character of Prince Nuelle, even though he is a prince, he always looks forward to protect their sentinel and best friends. He is not that type of prince who hiding or running away when the battle is coming. He is such a nice prince. Even his father, in my opinion, is a weak-person but he is a King. He always hides in Supreme Palace just to keep a peace for himself.

I can't imagine how Ave looks like, but I get more curious about Papo. I guess there would be more unique creature in this series. Overall, I enjoy taking an adventure on Sapienza's world with Antikai, Nuelle and Ave also Papo.



Labels: ,

1.09.2018

The Casual Vacancy Book Review

Casual Vacancy



The Casual Vacancy Book Review - It is the first time for me reading Rowling's book, her first adult novel after the legend series Harry Potter, Casual Vacancy. Even though I really like it, I couldn't finish it fastly. The character's conflicts are more confusing than their life-reality. Started from the death of Barry - whom he was senator of Pagford - when he and her wife wanted to get dinner at Golf Club. The death that shocked almost of his friends and all people in Pagford. There were a few people who don't care about his death, a few others are happy because of the vacant condition and another were so sad with his leaving.
Rowling writes every single story from their circumtances during this Casual Vacancy from people on Pagford. Those who are happy for this situation tried to propose for new senator and those who were affected by his death. The story flowing from one characters to others, filled with their thoughts and plans for their lives. It started from Monday when almost of them heard the news, his death's story was grew more and more from one mouth to another with different point of view.

Some of them focued on his family - especially Marry his wife and his children - what would they do after his death, how sad are they when someone that special has gone. And another focused on his death in the young age, he is still in the early of forthy and the news came up with a disease that also killed his brother years ago. And then there were who focused on the style of Barry when he was death, his face was greased by his retch while his body upper body was lying on the land. 



***

Pagford has divided into two places, Pagford where all rich families are lived and Fields the living poor families. For almost rich family in Pagfor, Fields are the things that exist with shamefully things : drugs, free sex, robber are exist here. People who lived in Fields are disgraceful to be neighboor, that is why members of senator which don't agree Fields to be part of them. They wont people from Fields across their places, they wont children from Fields study at their school. What they asked is to separated Fields from their lives.

This sparring has continue even Barry has been death. However, the Casual Vacancy has been something that contested from one candidate to another. For Howard the death of Barry is something fortunate because it means Howard could submit his candidate to run his vision. Of course it is all about Fields. Because, when Barry was still alive, he was the senator that tried to gave a chance to people in Fields to be a part of them. Even Barry tried to cut the differences between children from Fields and Pagford at the school. This was his vision to thrown away the racicsme.


***



For Andrew Price, his life is more than a horror movie. His dad is so cruel, he never thought that he could live with them anymore. With his best friend - Fats - he always spent his daily life in school and when free time with him. Sometimes, Fats is a fun when he always tried to make a fun of his dad. But, for Andrew when Fats bullied another students, it became a burdened for him, he find nothing than disgraceful behaviour from Fats. Especially when Fats bullied Sukhvinder and told her that she is a mustache girl.

Fats's life is not better than Andrew, he always being a nice boy since he was a kid. His Dad is a head master at school, his mother is a consulting students. He always goes to school with both his parents, other students always make a fun with his parents but ended with him stand up to fight them. But, when he is grow as a teenager, he wants to make some different with his life. And decided to sleep with Krystal - student from his school that lived in Fields - one day and skipping the school. Even after that, his Dad really angry with him and both are having fight at the car while go to their home.

Gavin is Barry's asistant, when he heard the death of his partner, he is the one whom really sad about it. He is the character of a man who always lead by his girlfriend. Almost of people in Pagford known that. But, when Barry's death, he is more careful with Marry as a wife of his best friend. 

Three of them are lived in Pagford, each of characters have a story that connected into one big story that make this book existed. One thing that you should know that it has no magic as Harry Potter, instead of magic it has a lot of jerk people behind their mask. At the first chapter it was really hard to get into it, but when it reached almost the end of the book, I found it really interesting because it has a unique plot twist.


***

Book Details


Title : The Casual Vacancy
Hardcover, 593 pages
Published November 2012 by Qanita (first published September 27th 2012)
Original Title : The Casual Vacancy
ISBN : 6029225685 (ISBN13: 9786029225686)
Edition Language : Indonesian
URL : http://casualvacancyindo.com/
Characters : Barry Fairbrother, Mary Fairbrother, Howard Mollison, Shirley Mollison, Samantha Mollison, Miles Mollison, Krystal Weedon, Terri Weedon, Colin "Cubby" Wall, Tessa Wall, Stuart "Fats" Wall, Andrew Price, Ruth Price, Simon Price, Gavin Hughes, Kay Bawden, Gaia Bawden, Parminder Jawanda, Sukhvinder Jawanda, Vikram Jawanda, Robbie Weedon, Barry Fairbrother, Mary Fairbrother, Howard Mollison, Shirley Mollison, Samantha Mollison
setting : Pagford (United Kingdom)





Labels: ,

12.01.2017

#BookOpinion Eliza And Her Monsters by Fransesca Zappia



Lately, I haven't had more time to write here. But, I'm still active on my Instagram account @blogger.reads also @alenaslibrary . If you haven't, please follow me and then I'll follow you back - especially if yours are bookstagram too. Today, I'd like to talking about Eliza and Her Monsters, a novel by Fransesca Zappia.

It's the first time for me to read her works, I've got this novel from a giveaway. So proud of myself when I could win it. But, I just read it a few months later. It was because I had no motivation to read all books from my TBR piles. I need something different, romance, light stories yet still in a good shape. When I was stuck to choose and it has took a minute longer, then I decided to read Eliza and Her Monsters.

Even my friends on Bookstagram Community already gave me a few information about the story, but I'm still doubt in my self, whether I can finish it or not.

When I began to read this novel.... something weird tuckled in my head.

Eliza is an introvert girl. Her life really represented my condition too. About me that couldn't easily get along with everyone else. And decided to sit down far away from the crowd and make myself busy with books. Although I'm not that real introvert, because when my own mood is in a good shape, I'll try to make a conversation with someone who near me.

The addiction that Eliza has, is one of the situation that always happened in almost of people around me nowadays. When they were so addicted to their phone and their online-life. I know, sometimes I have done these things too, when I felt so much enjoyed to had a conversation with friends in IG. But, when I read this novel, it brings me some awareness about my real life. Am I already had a good things have done in reality?

I thanked to Zappia, with her story. Because I already a Monstrous Sea fans too! Although, I'm still don't have any Monstrous Sea merchandise. But, it reminds me of this when someone talked about Constellation. Really, am I already addicted to it? Ahahahaha, I don't blame you!

The other things I like about Eliza and Her Monsters : When Eliza draws her stories, she was so professional. She wants to make something good, not just as it is. As for me, a man who couldn't draw anything, it sounds so amazing! I love when her sketch appears on the page, it makes me surprise.

I was no doubt to try reading Zappia's next book someday. So, I'm waiting a chance to buy her books. I gave it 5/5 because it is my favorite!

How about you? Have you been reading this book? Or do you have a book that makes you fell in love after finished?

If you don't mind to share with me, because I want to know more about favorite books from all of you. So, please leave a comment here :).

Labels:

8.25.2017

King's Effect For All His Almighty Horror Novels



For your information, eventho Stephen King is the best writer nowadays and his works already adapted into movies. You must know one thing, he has a different kind of horror. What I have to say? Like Cell, one of his novel's title, told us a story about all telephone's users. Or The eyes of the dragon, a story teller fairy special for his daughter, this one was a strange book I've ever read. The different fantasy or fairy tales, yet still good to read and my favorite too.

Revival Novel Stephen King

And then I read this novel, entitled Revival, a story about life spans of Jamie, from child into the grownup man - or should I said older man. The young Jamie live surround by people who always seems religious to me. His mom always teach her kids to be a good children, go to the church frequently and they were a good bestfriend for the new Reverend on Metodhist Road. His name is Jacob and he has a good family too. His wife was so beautiful and his boy was a young cute boy named Morris.

On the other day, Jamie invited by Jacob to his house. He shown Jamie his invention, a big miniature of a village that could move by itself when you push the power botton. He called it the almighty of Electricity. Once, he was confessed that his wife told him, he was crazy about it. And yes, that was one thing that made him so addicted.

A tragedy happened, Jacob's wife and child died by the car accident. That was a very very gloomy day that Jamie ever had. No ones talking out loud just like before, his brother and sister gone to the church with his parents. Jamie has to stayed at home, because he was a child. And oneday, Jacob's back to the routines activity, he gave a sermons that would be his last. The sermon made all of people in church felt uncomfortable. He was just told a nonsense for old people, yet for Jamie it was the truth that sometimes world isn't fair.

Jacob has to leave Metodhist Road, that was an instruction from his boss and also from all of people on this place. Before he go, Jamie runnning by himself to Jacob's house and met him for the last time. Jacob told a lot of story to him, also told him to visited a lighthouse inside the forest. He said that there were a lot of thunder that would made him saw a beauty of world's heaven. Jamie promised to himself that oneday he should visit that place.

After Reverend Jacob's left, Jamie's became a teenager and he was promote by his brother to be a guitar player. His band perfomance getting succesful. Also this chapter on his life, when the first time he met his girlfriend and spent a lot of time with her. On the other day he was a guitar player and acquaitance with smoke and drug. One day, his band bumped him while he was drunk and addiction to drug. He was by himself on that day, don't have money on his pocket, just a few to fill his stomache.

He leave a motel and tried to find a new mottel before he gone home. Right there, outside the event, he saw his favorite Reverend : Jacob. He was perfom a magic with his electricity. Jamie's tough it was a fake magic just like others magician. And then he would find out more about it, after he was healed by Jacob's invention tool. Using electricity to surprise the heart and then made all his neurons worked a bit different. Suddenly, Jamie recover from his addiction and became someone new.

But, Jamie found that something has happened when he was surprised by the electricity tool. He certainly known that something happened eventhough Jacob;s denied. With his invention, Jacob healed all his patients including Jamie's ex-girlfriend. But, oneday someone punch Jacob and yelled at him because his treatment. The man's daughter became a stranger, she couldn't manage herself and a lot of bad things happened after the electricity shock. After all, Jamie soon figure it out, it was all because of him, said Jacob.

As for me, the mistery that lies in this novel, about the addiction. When Jacob tried to found out where is afterlife's place, is it really exists or not. He guide his patients into mined of life to describe what they saw there. The description they gave to Jacob made him proud, he always wanted more. He wanna know what is behind the afterlife's gate. And his craziness guideance all his patients into abnormal death. This was a terrifies moment that I couldn't erase from my memory.

Thank you, King. You made my nightmare just like came true. And my day became very different in a strange way. But, trust me, I'm still the way I used to be but more strangely I guess. This is what I called, King's effect. And I know it wouldn't last forever, I just need couple days to take a rest.

Labels:

8.09.2017

3 Things What I Love The Most From 'Amulet Of Samarkand' Novel




A couple days ago, I've finished reading The Amulet of Samarkand, a fantasy genre about magicians, traitors also demon. The main charater on this novel is a boy, age 11 years old, who is a student of Mr. Underwood. That time, in London city where commoners and magicians lived together. Also almost of magicians are join parlement, uniquely the minister of London : Ralph Deveraux is a magician too. The condition of London that day was a mess, between Magicians and Commoners there were a distance that separated them.


The Amulet of Samarkand


It was because Magicians tought that commoners aren't useful in this city. They just commoners! They don't have a skill in magic, they aren't powerful - tought Magicians. And for the commoners, magicians are stranger. A few of them made a team called Resistance to attack magicians. Also a lots of artefacts have been stolen by Reistance. The conflicts are sharpen because something missing! Ultimate and very dangerous artefact has been stolen and the government are looking for it, whois the suspect?

Nathaniel, a boy age 11 years old, don't like his master - Mr. Underwood - yet love Mrs. Underwood. He is a clever boy, yet trying to be slow and stupid boy in front of his master. It is because he wont his master found out what he is been done in his room. He called a demon! Which is 5000 years old! The demon is so popular, he is Bartimaeus, the traitor on his kinds. Barti also has been slavery by Solomon for decade, so you wont doubt his ability. But, when Barti has been called, he faces a kid - very young for the age - who is ask him to stole the Amulet from Lovelace.
Here is what I love the most from the novel :
  • Bartimaeus's sarcastics joke.
You might not laughing out loud for the joke, but felt in love with his and nodding because you agree with him. That's when Barti told Nath about how people usually do something, what a magicians always do in a sarcastics sentences.
  • Nath is a representation of young age
I have been a teenager a long time ago. I know how it felt, when people told you not to do or ask you to do something, but that was not something I would stand for. And thanks for Stroud who build the strong charater inside Nath, the boy that would do anything to make someone pay for it. It might be a revenge, yet he is a boy whois trying to defend his pride. What you would expected from a boy? That's why this novel is something like 'near of reality'.
  • Being a master or a teacher is mean you have to be blessed
I know, there were a lot of people who aren't agree, yet they aren't hate of teacher's job. But, as for every teacher who loved their job, teaching is kind of interesting things to do everyday. They loved when their students asking them, they're thrilled when the student get a good score. But, Nath is unlucky boy, his master aren't clever enough yet so lucky to work as a parlement. And Nath is a smart boy who loved to read anything, so he already finished almost of books at his master's bookshelf.
And anything you will find out from this novel that is very recommended from all readers arround the world.
Have you reading this book? What is your opinion about this book, the caracthers, the story and conflicts?

Labels:

8.03.2017

Dear Author, Please Write A Standalone Book Not A Series!





Someone, help me please. Is there any 'fantasy' book that is not a series?


During reading Caraval, it reminds me of a book the title is Night at Circus, where all visitors are pampering by magics that would make them find it hard to escape from the game. A happiness that started when the sun is sets. So Caraval do, that has their own rules about time, where visitors and players is allowed to be outside when the dark is come, but they are have to get in their lodge before sunrise. That's the rule!

The owner of Caraval, is a mysterious man who is handsome and often made almost girls broken heart. Mr. Legend is inviting two sisters from Trisda island to visit his island. Scarlett and Tello, with some help of a man named Julian, they could escaped from Trisda island and also from their dad. Both of them never go outside the island, it is an order from their Dad, who is really cruel man.
Reading this book, made me mumbled that the magic here is lesser than I expected. Yet, the relationship between two sisters is great things to explore. Also don't forget to the love story. How Scarlett survive from every games and trying so hard to protect her heart from falling in love with a man named Julian. Everyone would be fooled during this game in Caraval, however before the game is started, they already notified that everything that happens here in the Caraval more or less is not real.

Sadly, I have to tell you that I don't like book series. So, when I searched the information of this book, I've found that the next part will be publish at 2018. I guess this is what I called wasting time, I need to read Fantasy - Romance book that is single - non series - book. So,  I don't have to take more time just to wait for another part of book. I call an author that will write another 'single' book that is awesome and has a great plot. Really, I want it for real.

For the structure of the story, it is a great book. I admit it because when I read this book I've found it hard to take some rest. It makes me always curious what would happened in the next chapter. Also, it has a very strong characters and everything in here really detailed. I don;t regret reading this book, yet I hope Stephanie wouldn't publish the series. Just one standalone book, I hope. And let the readers has their expectation of the ending scene.

Labels:

7.12.2017

I Do Love Gaiman's Books


Yes, I do love all Neil Gaiman's books, since the very first time I read his book : Stardust when I was in high school. I like how he made strong characters, great plot so I was enjoyed along reading the book and of course cute cover of book. When I decided to bought it just because of the cover's wrote the special words. This book was adapted on movie version. So, I got curious what was it about.

And then, I began to followed the journey to the top of god mountain. And met the magicians. Aha, but when I watched the movie, felt so...damn why I have to watch this garbage? I really hate Stardust movie version.

After all those journey to find a great book to remember, then I read Good Omen which ruins my logic so sudden! Yes, Gaiman's ideas seems so genius! He always create a great plot and insert the crazness in it that would ruin everything you believe at. Been a (not very) fans of him, makes me realize that I had to go out from my box and found another journey to the other world of Neverwhere book.

And here I am, have been reading The Graveyard Book that I tought it was dedicated for Children. Yes, the boy in this book is the main character which grown in graveyard and nursery by ghouls. Can you imagine when you were a baby, you have to lived in the graveyard by yourself, alone, surrounded by ghouls and they feed you!

Blame my logic!

Labels: